David Faulkner

Martin Wilmore

Carl Long

Alex Resek

Chris Koch

Darren Walters

2011 Club Champs 2nd Round

Report Ken 'The Mud' O'Brien

Pics Gary Dowzall Event Gallery =====

Glorious weather greeted 55 riders for this 2nd round 2011 Ixion championship with four laps of ten to be ridden.
The dry soon turned to wet as the venue Cox's farm is notorious for underground springs on which eight of the ten sections were plotted.
Chris Koch made it all look too easy in the Expert class parting with 14 marks and not a solitary dab was taken at section five a fiercely rooted sub with an adverse camber covered in slick grass.
Best Intermediate on the hard route was Darren Walters losing 53 although Darren put a faultless performance in at section six a fallen tree to cross before awkwardly growing branches rising from the swamp had to be negotiated.
Youth A victor was Charlie Langston 125 Gas Gas who rode section Four confidently and mastering it on the second visit this twisting uphill affair with a steep drop over an outcrop of roots.
The standard White route best performance was put in by Scorpa mounted Clubman class Martin Wilmore who coaxed his machine around for a loss of seventeen six ahead of Alan Taylor one of only five riders to clean sub seven some 40 yards of  bog and deep ruts.
Best novice and maximum champs points went to Carl Long a single dab in front of Mark Kenyon-Bell.
Youth B Top Dog Alec Resek had a fine clean on section eight a new sub recently cleared that needed a flat out style approach if you were to conquer the bottomless marshy going.
Eighteen riders contested  the Blue eased route with Kevin McCullagh piloting the Mont 4RT around at a leisurley pace to finish a few marks in front of Ixion veteran Paul Wickson both riders scoring zero points after four visits to section Ten 30 odd yards of mud and cambers including a sharpish drop to the streams edge.
All sections were manned and the ten observers went home with a nice Easter Egg for their troubles.

Chris Koch Beta 300
Darren Walters Beta 250
Youth A
Charlie Langston Gas 125 76
Standard White Route

Martin Wilmore Scorpa


Alan Taylor Scorpa 23
Carl Long Beta 66
Mark Kenyon Bell Beta 67
Youth B
Alec Resec Sherco

Blue Route KP McCullagh Montesa 8
Paul Wickson TY 250 (pinky) 13
Dave Radford Gas 125 14
David Faulkner Beta 33